Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers – Mojo (1st Press)

Posted: April 2, 2011 in Vinyl
Tags:

Mojo is the first studio album from Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers in eight years. Surprisingly, it was released without much fan fare. Tom Petty’s solo album, Highway Companion, released a few years prior to this Heartbreakers album received more attention I feel like. Mojo received the vinyl treatment through Because Sound Matters via Warner/Reprise.

Because Sound Matters (BSM) has gained a reputation in some circles as being way over priced for what is being offered. Without actually buying one of their releases I would have to agree 100%, by just looking at the absurd prices they charge for albums. But what can you expect from a major label connected venture that mostly does unnecessary “audiophile” re-presses.

This is the first BSM release I have purchased and ever held in my hands, and just let me say I am impressed ever so slightly. Do I feel it justifies the hefty $30 plus price tag, absolutely not, but I would be even more upset if I got a cheap, flimsy jacket and records that were 180 gram. After owning a BSM release, I no longer 100% feel they’re stuff is over priced, but feeling no less than 90% that way I’m still not a total supporter. At least I didn’t pay full price for this.

The gatefold jacket is the thickest stock I’ve ever seen. It would take some serious effort to tear it or have any other type of damage like creasing. I wouldn’t be surprised if you dropped it if it would come up without any dings or bends. The record does come with an insert with complete lyrics for each song, which is rare these days. One thing I’m not a fan of is that it comes with those “audiophile” dust sleeves, which is basically a regular paper dust sleeve with a thin poly lining inside the sleeve. For the price I would’ve liked high quality photo sleeves. Those “audiophile” dust sleeves cost a measly 22 cents a piece if you buy them in bulk.

As for pressing details of this record, numbers were never released. As far as I know all copies were pressed on 180 gram black vinyl. For a band like Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers, it wouldn’t be surprising if this was pressed in the five digits and will be kept in print for years.

Leave a Reply

