V/A – Yo Gabba Gabba!: The Super Music Friends Show Album

Posted: February 9, 2013 in Vinyl
Tags: , , , , ,

Easily one of the most embarrassing records in my collection, especially considering I don’t have any children, yet. But for the sake of completing my Weezer and Killers collection I bought this record. It’s a compilation featuring songs written for and performed on the Nickelodeon/Nick Jr. kids show, Yo Gabba Gabba!. Despite being geared towards children, the show gets a ton of great bands to perform, bands clearly geared towards the kids’ parents. Bands like Weezer, The Killers, Band Of Horses, The Flaming Lips, Of Montreal, MGMT, Devo, Taking Back Sunday, Jimmy Eat World (sadly the last two  aren’t featured on this comp). All those bands make appearances on the show thanks to one of its creators, lead singer of The Aquabats, Christian Jacobs. And as you might have guessed as a result, yes The Aquabats do perform on the show.

This comp was pressed as a double LP housed in a gatefold jacket. I have not seen official pressing info for this comp, but I have heard it was limited to 1,000 copies on random colored 180 gram vinyl. My copy is actually over 200 gram, since it felt heavier than any other record I have in my collection curiosity got the best of me and i weighed it on my postal scale. The known colors (first color mentioned is LP 1, second color is LP 2) so far are translucent red and translucent yellow, translucent red and translucent green, translucent orange and translucent green, baby blue and baby pink. I’m not sure if the baby blue and baby pink are translucent or not, odds are they are translucent since all the others colors are, but I’ve never seen baby colors done translucent before. This comp is also an Urban Outfitters exclusive, which can be bought both in physical stores and online. All copies come with a download card as well.

i don’t normally post track listings for albums or comps, but here it us:

1. All My Friends Are Insects – Weezer
2. Art Is Everywhere – MGMT
3. Fantastic Journey – Cut Copy
4. Say Thank You – Toro Y Moi
5. Out In Nature – Band Of Outsiders
6. It’s OK Try Again – The Shins
7. Dinosaur Party – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
8. Pancakes & Syrup – Biz Markie
9. Lovely Love My Family – The Roots
10. Spaceship Adventure – The Killers
11. Brush, Brush, Brush – Of Montreal
12. You Can Do It If You Try – Belle & Sebastian
13. I Can Be A Frog – The Flaming Lips
14. Goodbye – Yo Gabba Gabba! Featuing Jack Black

Leave a Reply

