V/A – Girls Volume 2: All Adventurous Women Do… Music From The HBO Original Series

Posted: December 23, 2014 in Vinyl
Tags: ,

It’s hard to believe that two volumes of soundtracks/”Music From…” releases from the hit HBO show Girls have gone completely under the radar for the most part. Seeing as how pressing soundtracks and scores is all the rage these days, the two Girls soundtracks are still readily available and had no fanfare or hype surrounding them.

The official title for this release is Girls Volume 2: All Adventurous Women Do… Music From The HBO Original Series. It was pressed on black vinyl. Volume 2 features a lot of popular and highly collected bands, as did Volume 1. Volume 1 had an unreleased and exclusive (at the time f the soundtrack’s release) Fun. song, a band people go nuts over in terms of vinyl, yet places can’t give the Volume 1 away. Volume 2 has Vampire Weekend, Oasis, Jenny Lewis and Beck, all insanely popular bands/artists with rabid vinyl collectors, yet Volume 2 still sits on shelves unsold.

To be fair, Volume 2 is on the pricey side in most people’s minds, over $20 before shipping for a single LP that features quite a few previously released songs. So I’m guessing many people won’t spring for the soundtrack because of the price, or won’t because of a combination of the price and the fact they already have the songs on studio albums , prime example being Oasis. However, I bought this soundtrack for the Vampire Weekend song, which is unreleased and exclusive to this soundtrack. It’s a Bruce Springsteen cover, who is one of my favorite bands.

All copies of Girls Volume 2: All Adventurous Women Do… Music From The HBO Original Series were pressed on black vinyl and come with an double sided, full color insert. The record comes in a standard single pocket jacket and includes a download card for middle of the road 256kbps MP3’s

Here is the track listing:

Side A

  1. Vampire Weekend – I’m Going Down
  2.  Jenny Lewis – Completely Not Me
  3. M. Ward – I Get Ideas
  4. Lily Allen – L8CMMR
  5. Beck – Blue Moon
  6. Miguel – Simplethings
  7. Christina Perri – I Dont Wanna Break
  8. Oasis – Wonderwall

Side B

  1. Zero DeZire – It’s My Birthday (Remix)
  2. Aimee Mann – How Am I Different
  3.  Father John Misty – Nancy From Now On
  4. Jake Bugg – There’s a Beast and We All Feed It
  5. Cat Power – Free (Remix)
  6.   Daniel Johnston – Life In Vain (Live at Austin City Limits)
  7. Michael Penn – Daisy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s