Friday The 13th Score

Posted: December 29, 2014 in Vinyl
Tags: , ,

If you thought Mondo was the only game in town that sells overpriced horror/film soundtracks and scores guess again, Waxwork Records is another “label” that caters to collector nerds (not just records) and über fan boys.

One of Waxwork’s highly anticipated releases was the score to the horror classic, the original Friday The 13th. Needless to say, the pre-order for the record was the definition of a clusterf*ck, with the website being overloaded due to the volume of traffic, variants selling out in literally seconds and ridiculous prices. The piece de resistance was a blood filled variant, limited to 100 copies. This was what everybody wanted, but very few were actually able to obtain.

The blood filled variant was simply a clear record with a red dye filled liquid pouch sandwiched in between two pieces of vinyl. Some people actually think, and were led to believe actual blood was used, but for obvious legal and health reasons actual blood could not be used. The blood filed variant also had a ridiculous price tag for a release that was already overpriced to begin with; $65… before shipping. Despite the hefty price, the blood filled variant sold out in seconds, no joke. Many copies inevitably wound up on ebay within seconds of purchase too, which shouldn’t surprise or upset anyone at this point so there really shouldn’t be any complaints in that department as it will never stop flipping anything. The rest of the variants were priced at $27 before shipping, again, overpriced, but labels like Waxwork will never see a reason to lower their prices because everything they release sells out in a matter of days if not hours regardless of price.

The only variant Waxwork released pressing info for was the blood filled. The other variants will never have pressing info released, because that is part of labels like Waxwork and Mondo’s game; sell overpriced, visually stunning, hyped up rarity without actually revealing how rare the item is collector’s items. On top of the blood filled, there were three other variants; a half red/half green split, a “Camp Blood” variant which is a woodland green and brown haze with blood splatter and a “Crystal Lake” variant which is deep murky green. The blood filled, red/green split and the “Camp Blood” variants were exclusive to Waxwork mail order (could only be bought online through Waxwork’s web store and both sold out in a matter of hours if not minutes) while the “Crystal Lake” variant is the common variant that is widely available, though you could buy it online directly from Waxwork as well. If you buy this from a record store or online distro at this point you will receive the crystal lake murky green variant. The crystal lake murky green variant looks black on first inspection, but once you hold it up to the light the murky green reveals itself to be a green with black swirl color. This was purposely done to resemble the murkiness of crystal lake. All variants were pressed on 180 gram vinyl.

The record also comes with an exclusive art print that is done by Jacqui Oakley. The record comes housed in a thick gatefold jacket, one of those “heavy weight old style tip on” jackets, with artwork that is unique to this release of the score (yes this score was released before Waxwork released it). The jacket art is done by Jay Shaw. Inside the gatefold jacket are liner notes from film director Jay Cunningham and score composer Henry Manfredini. The A/B side center labels are different, which is unique from most records as they are generally the same aside from different track listing and the mention of which side it is. Side A has what could be called a generic label, which has the title, track listing and brief credits printed on it, while Side B has an archery target printed on it. There is a hype sticker on the cover, but it does not denote what variant the record is, it simply says 180 gram vinyl.

By all accounts this record does not sound good, especially the blood filled due to the pressing process of that variant. At first I tossed it up to people using terrible setups, like Crosleys, or people being trolls on message boards, facebook and in comment sections. But after finally buying a copy of this I have to agree. It’s not the worst sounding record I’ve ever heard, or even have in my collection, but it’s not something an audiophile would be happy with or impressed by. My copy is not filled with pops, hisses and clicks. That is not saying other copies don’t have this problem, but if they do odds are it’s likely due to terrible set ups. If you use a Crosley you have no idea what records are supposed to sound like. However, many people are complaining about how bad the music sounds in general. You have to remember the recording of this score was not done with top level equipment, and it’s also not supposed to sound great, by intent. The score reflects terror, and at spots is purposely done to sound like nails on a chalkboard for added effect in the film. If you’re expecting a top notch, superb listening experience, don’t buy this record.

Here is the track listing for the Waxwork release, which is longer and more comprehensive than the score’s original pressing.

Side A

  1.  Overlay of Evil / Main Title
  2.     Banjo Travelin’
  3.     Alice Goes To the Lake
  4.     Back Up to Annie Alone
  5.     Mrs. V Watches
  6.     Ralph In The Pantry
  7.     Don’t Smoke In Bed
  8.     Not Tonight, I’ve Got A Headache
  9.     Brenda In Lights
  10.      The Bed Axe

Side B

1.     Alice Runs To Cabin

2.     Mrs. V Comes Clean

3.     Alice Run To Light

4.     The Last Fight / The Chop To The End

5.     The Boat On The Water / Closing Theme 1 / Jason In The Lake

6.     Closing Theme

7.     Sail Away Tiny Sparrow

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s