Against Me! – Osama Bin Laden As The Crucified Christ 7″ (Record Store Day 2015)

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags:

Record Store Day (RSD) 2015 was my worst yet. Typically I arrive about three hours before my local store opens and I’m usually no more than 20 people back, having no problems getting everything I want. This year, because of the Brand New – Deja Entendu re-press I decided to get to the store even earlier, anticipating a clusterf*ck because of the Deja release. Boy was I wrong in how early I should have gotten there. Even though I lined up five hours before opening, two hours earlier than I usually do, I was the 55th person in line, more than double where I usually am in line. How do I know where I was in line you ask? Simple; my local store is insanely organized when it comes to RSD. They keep all the RSD releases alphabetized and categorized by format (7″, 10″, LP, CD, tape, box set) behind a counter they set up just for RSD, have it set up menu style where you tell them what you want and they get it for you, only let a handful of people in the store (RSD area) at a time and they hand out numbered pieces of paper like a deli in a supermarket based on line order to make sure nobody further back in line gets RSD releases ahead of anyone because they have four or five different employees getting releases.

So to sum up, I got to the store earlier than ever before, was further back in line than ever before for my effort and didn’t get three releases that I wanted. Considering in the six previous RSD’s I’ve attended I only didn’t get one release over that entire span, not getting three in one year is a horrible swing. To be fair though, I bought one of the releases I missed online from Bull Moose. I found out from talking to people in the store and some employees that people started lining up at 5 pm on the day before (Friday) RSD, with the bulk of people getting the Deja RSD exclusive lining up by 11:30 pm the day before. No way will I ever line up that early for anything non-life essential.

This is one of the releases I missed out on, the Against Me! – Osama Bin Laden As The Crucified Christ 7″. It turned out to be one of the most sought after releases (after Brand New and Foo Fighters) seeing as it was limited to only 700 copies and was one of the “regional focus” releases on RSD. To this day I have no idea what regional actually means in RSD terms. It can’t be literal, because stores across the country get it, so it’s not like only certain areas, or regions, are able to get it.

As stated above, this 7″ was limited to only 700 copies. The official RSD pressing info said 700 copies on pink, but once people got copies it became obvious the pressing info was wrong, at least in terms of color. It seems like they checked the random colors box when placing their order with the plant, as this 7″ comes in at least three different colors that I’m aware of. The colors are pink, green, grey/putty (some people are calling this light purple) and purple/maroon. The shades range in hue, and all of the colors have marbling in them as well. What is pictured with entry is the purple/maroon color. The RSD site has since edited the pressing info and release details on their site to reflect that this 7″ is not only on pink. They changed it from “pink vinyl” to simply “colored vinyl.”

This 7″ did not come sealed and does not come with a download code. This 7″ also features two, never before released exclusive (for the time being) songs. A live version of “Osama Bin Laden As The Crucified Christ” on the a-side and “Osama Bin Laden As The Crucified Christ (Extra Dysphoric Version) ” on the b-side. The live version from the a-side will apparently appear on the band’s forthcoming live album.

For a band like Against Me! 700 copies is not enough for a record that is not getting a wide release. Combine the size of Against Me!’s fanbase with the calamity that is RSD, and you get a perfect storm for a rare record. One of the good aspects of the 7″ being so limited though, is that is actually cuts back on the amount being flipped, as flippers have an equally tough time getting it. Do they math. There are around 1500 participating stores for RSD, and even if every store only ordered 1 copy of this 7″, less than half of the stores would actually get it. However, flippers did get some, it just wasn’t as widespread as it usually is for RSD release. Prices are ranging up to $41. Considering this 7″ cost as little as $5 from some stores, that is a huge profit, nearly 10x.

I somehow scored this 7″ during the Bull Moose RSD leftovers frenzy. Last Year (2014) I couldn’t even get Bull Moose’s site to load, but this year I was not only able to get the site to load, I was able to buy something exceedingly hard to come by.

Against Me! - Osama Bin Laden As The Crucified Christ - Copy

Leave a Reply

