Billie Joe Armstrong/Travis Barker/Jane Wiedlen & Roddy Bottom – Live Freaky! Die Freaky! 7″ (Record Store Day 2015)

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags: , , , , , ,

Record Store Day (RSD) 2015 was my worst yet. Typically I arrive about three hours before my local store opens and I’m usually no more than 20 people back, having no problems getting everything I want. This year, because of the Brand New – Deja Entendu re-press I decided to get to the store even earlier, anticipating a clusterf*ck because of the Deja release. Boy was I wrong in how early I should have gotten there. Even though I lined up five hours before opening, two hours earlier than I usually do, I was the 55th person in line, more than double where I usually am in line. How do I know where I was in line you ask? Simple; my local store is insanely organized when it comes to RSD. They keep all the RSD releases alphabetized and categorized by format (7″, 10″, LP, CD, tape, box set) behind a counter they set up just for RSD, have it set up menu style where you tell them what you want and they get it for you, only let a handful of people in the store (RSD area) at a time and they hand out numbered pieces of paper like a deli in a supermarket based on line order to make sure nobody further back in line gets RSD releases ahead of anyone because they have four or five different employees getting releases.

So to sum up, I got to the store earlier than ever before, was further back in line than ever before for my effort and didn’t get three releases that I wanted. Considering in the six previous RSD’s I’ve attended I only didn’t get one release over that entire span, not getting three in one year is a horrible swing. To be fair though, I bought one of the releases I missed online from Bull Moose. I found out from talking to people in the store and some employees that people started lining up at 5 pm on the day before (Friday) RSD, with the bulk of people getting the Deja RSD exclusive lining up by 11:30 pm the day before. No way will I ever line up that early for anything non-life essential.

One of the releases that is still lingering post RSD is the Billie Joe Armstrong 7″ picture disc. It’s billed as solely a Billie Joe Armstrong release, but in fact it’s a split release featuring two other artists and the music is taken from the soundtrack to the stop-motion animated musical film Live Freaky! Die Freaky!. Side A has the Billie Joe Armstrong song, “Mechanical Man,” and side B has two tracks, one by Travis Barker (Blink-182 drummer) entitled “Charlie? (Opening Song)” and the other by Jane Wiedlin (Go-Go’s) and Roddy Bottom (Faith No more) entitled “Do The Creep Crawl.”

There were 2500 copies pressed, all as a picture disc. It was released by Frontier Records to celebrate the film’s 10th anniversary. One thing of note about this release is that is does not come in a red picture disc sleeve as the picture on the official RSD releases list implies based on the picture attached to it. It comes in a regular, clear, picture disc sleeve with a hype sticker on the right hand side.

This 7″ was arguably the most expensive release considering what it is. Yes, there were far more expensive releases by dollar amount, but they were either box sets or multi-disc releases. You can’t compare the price of a box set against a single 7″. What I’m getting at is this three track, picture disc 7″, cost $20 retail. Sure some places might have undercut that price by a few bucks or charged even more for it than that, but theMSRP was $20. To make matters even worse, theMSRP’s stated leaking out shortly after owner of Bull Moose Records and one of the founders ofRSD, did an interview about everythingRSD where he said, referring toRSD 2015; “Ryan Adams’ ongoing inexpensive 7″ series means a label better have a very good reason for releasing a 7″ for $12-$15″ and ‘some releases were rejected based on price.’ Obviously those statements were hogwash as this 7” somehow made the cut at this price point. Before anyone jumps down my throat about complaining about the price but still buying it, myout of pocket cost was only $10 after applying a rewards point bonus that my local store does.

Leave a Reply

