Chris Farren/Tim Kasher – You Be Me For A While Split 7″ (Record Store Day 2015)

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags: , , ,

Record Store Day (RSD) 2015 was my worst yet. Typically I arrive about three hours before my local store opens and I’m usually no more than 20 people back, having no problems getting everything I want. This year, because of the Brand New – Deja Entendu re-press I decided to get to the store even earlier, anticipating a clusterf*ck because of the Deja release. Boy was I wrong in how early I should have gotten there. Even though I lined up five hours before opening, two hours earlier than I usually do, I was the 55th person in line, more than double where I usually am in line. How do I know where I was in line you ask? Simple; my local store is insanely organized when it comes to RSD. They keep all the RSD releases alphabetized and categorized by format (7″, 10″, LP, CD, tape, box set) behind a counter they set up just for RSD, have it set up menu style where you tell them what you want and they get it for you, only let a handful of people in the store (RSD area) at a time and they hand out numbered pieces of paper like a deli in a supermarket based on line order to make sure nobody further back in line gets RSD releases ahead of anyone because they have four or five different employees getting releases.

So to sum up, I got to the store earlier than ever before, was further back in line than ever before for my effort and didn’t get three releases that I wanted. Considering in the six previous RSD’s I’ve attended I only didn’t get one release over that entire span, not getting three in one year is a horrible swing. To be fair though, I bought one of the releases I missed online from Bull Moose. I found out from talking to people in the store and some employees that people started lining up at 5 pm on the day before (Friday) RSD, with the bulk of people getting the Deja RSD exclusive lining up by 11:30 pm the day before. No way will I ever line up that early for anything non-life essential.

One of the more sought after releases, which was a bit surprising, was the Chris Farren (Fake Problems) and Tim Kasher (Cursive) split 7″ entitled You Be Me For A While. I feel like the reason for it being sought after post RSD was that the label, Saddle Creek, held on to a good chunk of the pressing to sell themselves. I know quite a few people were looking for it because either their store didn’t get it or it sold out before they could grab a copy. More than two weeks after RSD and it’s still available for sale in their web store. By this point everyone who wanted a copy and missed out on RSD has it.

This split 7″ has an interesting twist. Each artist writes and performs his own song, then, without hearing the other’s song, perform a cover version of it. The only thing that the two exchanged with each other was the lyrics and chords. The Chris Farren song is “All The World” and the Tim Kasher song is “Half Full.” The a-side is the original version performed by each artist, and the b-side features the cover versions. Personally I prefer the Chris Farren version of both songs.

Released by Saddle Creek Records, there were 1,000 copies pressed, all on grey vinyl. All copies come with an insert, which has the lyrics for the two songs printed on it. A download code is also included. The record does not come sealed, it comes in a poly sleeve with a hype sticker on the upper right corner. This 7″ was one of the few somewhat reasonably priced, coming in at $8. Considering Saddle Creek charge $6 for majority of their 7″ releases, $8 in store is not that big of a mark up considering you would have to pay shipping ordering online. This was one of the few releases not marked up in price because of RSD, and by marked up I mean having a higher than normal MSRP.

Leave a Reply

