Foo Fighters – Songs From The Laundry Room 10″ [U.S. Pressing – 1st Press (Record Store Day 2015)]

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags:

Record Store Day (RSD) 2015 was my worst yet. Typically I arrive about three hours before my local store opens and I’m usually no more than 20 people back, having no problems getting everything I want. This year, because of the Brand New – Deja Entendu re-press I decided to get to the store even earlier, anticipating a clusterf*ck because of the Deja release. Boy was I wrong in how early I should have gotten there. Even though I lined up five hours before opening, two hours earlier than I usually do, I was the 55th person in line, more than double where I usually am in line. How do I know where I was in line you ask? Simple; my local store is insanely organized when it comes to RSD. They keep all the RSD releases alphabetized and categorized by format (7″, 10″, LP, CD, tape, box set) behind a counter they set up just for RSD, have it set up menu style where you tell them what you want and they get it for you, only let a handful of people in the store (RSD area) at a time and they hand out numbered pieces of paper like a deli in a supermarket based on line order to make sure nobody further back in line gets RSD releases ahead of anyone because they have four or five different employees getting releases.

So to sum up, I got to the store earlier than ever before, was further back in line than ever before for my effort and didn’t get three releases that I wanted. Considering in the six previous RSD’s I’ve attended I only didn’t get one release over that entire span, not getting three in one year is a horrible swing. To be fair though, I bought one of the releases I missed online from Bull Moose. I found out from talking to people in the store and some employees that people started lining up at 5 pm on the day before (Friday) RSD, with the bulk of people getting the Deja RSD exclusive lining up by 11:30 pm the day before. No way will I ever line up that early for anything non-life essential.

In turns out though that I could have easily skipped RSD again this year seeing as the only thing I wanted that couldn’t be bought online as leftovers from the various stores was this release, the Foo Fighters – Songs From The Laundry Room 10″.

This 10″ features four demos recorded by Dave Grohl during time off from touring he had with Nirvana and the period after Nirvana disbanded but before the formation of Foo Fighters as a four-piece outfit. Two songs are early takes on songs that would appear on the band’s debut self-titled album and the other two are never before heard songs. Side A has “Alone + Easy Target” and “Big Me” with side B having a cover of Kim Wilde’s “Kids In America” and a never before heard Foo Fighters/Dave Grohl song entitled “Empty Handed.” The songs were recorded in the early 90’s at Laundry Room Studios in Seattle with producer Barrett Jones. An interesting tidbit about the song “Empty Handed,” if you watched the Seattle episode of Foo Fighters’ HBO docu-series Sonic Highways, Dave Grohl played a clip of the song when he is going through all the all analog tapes he recorded with Barrett Jones.

The 10″ was limited to 4,000 copies, all pressed on black vinyl. There are two separate pressings of this 10″, a U.S. and Euro pressing. The U.S. pressing is limited to 4,000 copies and the Euro pressing is limited to 1,500 copies. The only distinguishable difference are different stickers on the outer poly sleeve for each pressing. The US. pressing has a tiny, white square sticker that has the RSD logo and some sort of number, ‘1RAW10495S1,’ printed on it. I say some sort of number because the number printed on the sticker is not the bar code number, catalog number, matrix number, etc. The Euro pressing has a silver foil sunburst sticker that reads ‘Record Store Day Exclusive,’ which is the same sticker that has been used for RSD releases for the past few years.

The packaging of the release is one of the nicest of RSD this year. It mimics a cassette release, with an enlarged inlay similar to what would typically be included with a cassette from the 80’s. The record comes in a printed dust sleeve slid into a nice, sturdy jacket. One of the only knocking points of this release is a big one in this day and age; as far as I know no download code is included, unless my copy didn’t have one for whatever reason.

After reading some interviews Grohl gave regarding RSD and this release in particular, he said there are maybe 40 songs he recorded that no one has heard before. He narrowed the list down to about 20 to pick from for what would appear on the Songs From The Laundry Room 10″. So here’s hoping all those songs eventually see the light of day at some point, only not as a Record Store Day release.

This 10″ was likely re-pressed based on the fact the band is selling around 30 copies of it at each of their pop up shops in the various cities on their current tour. Some pop up shops are opened for several days leading up to the show in that respective city, while others are only open for one day. There have been four pop up shops so far and there will likely be more. I doubt there were this many copies leftover after RSD as this was one of the hardest releases to get, and I doubt the band would allow a ton of copies be held back to sell later on. Also, they are selling these for $30 at the pop up shops, which is close to double the price for it on RSD.

Leave a Reply

