V/A – Whatever Nevermind comp

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags: , ,

Record Store Day (RSD) 2015 was my worst yet. Typically I arrive about three hours before my local store opens and I’m usually no more than 20 people back, having no problems getting everything I want. This year, because of the Brand New – Deja Entendu re-press I decided to get to the store even earlier, anticipating a clusterf*ck because of the Deja release. Boy was I wrong in how early I should have gotten there. Even though I lined up five hours before opening, two hours earlier than I usually do, I was the 55th person in line, more than double where I usually am in line. How do I know where I was in line you ask? Simple; my local store is insanely organized when it comes to RSD. They keep all the RSD releases alphabetized and categorized by format (7″, 10″, LP, CD, tape, box set) behind a counter they set up just for RSD, have it set up menu style where you tell them what you want and they get it for you, only let a handful of people in the store (RSD area) at a time and they hand out numbered pieces of paper like a deli in a supermarket based on line order to make sure nobody further back in line gets RSD releases ahead of anyone because they have four or five different employees getting releases.

So to sum up, I got to the store earlier than ever before, was further back in line than ever before for my effort and didn’t get three releases that I wanted. Considering in the six previous RSD’s I’ve attended I only didn’t get one release over that entire span, not getting three in one year is a horrible swing. To be fair though, I bought one of the releases I missed online from Bull Moose. I found out from talking to people in the store and some employees that people started lining up at 5 pm on the day before (Friday) RSD, with the bulk of people getting the Deja RSD exclusive lining up by 11:30 pm the day before. No way will I ever line up that early for anything non-life essential.

One of the few unofficial RSD releases (RSD did a good job cutting back on the releases trying to piggy back) this year was another Nirvana tribute comp released by Robotic Empire. This year the label tackled Nirvana’s Nevermind.

Just like last year, they released a RSD variant and did a regular variant that was put up for sale in their web store a few days after RSD. This year however, there was a legit RSD variant, as the record was pressed on an exclusive color. The 2014 Nirvana Tribute RSD release only had a poster as the difference between the RSD and non-RSD “variants.”

The RSD variant is pressed on clear blue and comes with a fold out poster, and the regular, or “mail-order” variant is on opaque blue. The opaque blue is a darker blue than the clear blue. The clear blue is like a baby blue and the opaque blue is more like a royal blue. Pressing info for either variant has not yet been released.

Another change from last year is that a bonus 7″ was included, which slides into its own pocket inside the LP jacket. The 7″ is stored in the exact was as the 15th Anniversary pressing of Thursday’s Waiting. Which you can view here: The 7″ features two bonus songs that do not appear on the standard studio album of Nevermind. Both songs on the 7″ are performed by Thou, and they are “Endless Nameless” and “Even In His Youth.” The LP features the standard studio album Nevermind in its entirety.

Here is the track listing:

A1. Young Widows – Smells Like Teen Spirit

A2. Torche – In Bloom

A3. KYLESA – Come As You Are

A4. Cave In – Breed

A5. Boris – Lithium

A6. La Dispute – Polly

B1. White Reaper – Territorial Pissings

B2. Circa Survive – Drain You

B3. Touche Amore – Lunge Act

B4. Wrong – Stay Away

B5. Pygmy Lush – On A Plain

B6. Nothing – Something In The Way

Leave a Reply

