Yellowcard – A Perfect Sky 10″ (Record Store Day 2015)

Posted: May 8, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags:

Record Store Day (RSD) 2015 was my worst yet. Typically I arrive about three hours before my local store opens and I’m usually no more than 20 people back, having no problems getting everything I want. This year, because of the Brand New – Deja Entendu re-press I decided to get to the store even earlier, anticipating a clusterf*ck because of the Deja release. Boy was I wrong in how early I should have gotten there. Even though I lined up five hours before opening, two hours earlier than I usually do, I was the 55th person in line, more than double where I usually am in line. How do I know where I was in line you ask? Simple; my local store is insanely organized when it comes to RSD. They keep all the RSD releases alphabetized and categorized by format (7″, 10″, LP, CD, tape, box set) behind a counter they set up just for RSD, have it set up menu style where you tell them what you want and they get it for you, only let a handful of people in the store (RSD area) at a time and they hand out numbered pieces of paper like a deli in a supermarket based on line order to make sure nobody further back in line gets RSD releases ahead of anyone because they have four or five different employees getting releases.

So to sum up, I got to the store earlier than ever before, was further back in line than ever before for my effort and didn’t get three releases that I wanted. Considering in the six previous RSD’s I’ve attended I only didn’t get one release over that entire span, not getting three in one year is a horrible swing. To be fair though, I bought one of the releases I missed online from Bull Moose. I found out from talking to people in the store and some employees that people started lining up at 5 pm on the day before (Friday) RSD, with the bulk of people getting the Deja RSD exclusive lining up by 11:30 pm the day before. No way will I ever line up that early for anything non-life essential.

Yellowcard had a RSD release this year, a 10″ comprised of all unreleased alternate versions of songs off their latest album, Lift A Sail. There are three songs in total; “MSK (Neal Avron remix),” “One Bedroom (acoustic Daytrotter Session)” and “California (Neal Avron Strings Mix).” The record comes in a full color dust sleeve, and that is likely why an insert is not included. No download code is included, unless my copy didn’t come with one. I find that hard to believe though, as all copies were sealed, so it couldn’t have fallen out or being swiped by someone before it reached my hands.

There were 1,000 copies pressed, all on black vinyl. This cost $16 from most places, unless your record store was one of the countless to mark upRSD releases. In hindsight, this it’s one of the fewRSD releases I regret buying, as it’s seems like every store in the country has some copies leftover. I’m thinking I could have saved some money on it by buying it down the road.

Leave a Reply

