Weezer – Everything Will Be Alright In The End

Posted: August 5, 2015 in Vinyl
Tags:

Weezer’s latest album, Everything Will Be Alright In The End, was pressed as single LP on 180 gram black vinyl. The record comes housed in a gatefold jacket, with the cover art expanding onto both panels. I held off on buying this record because of the price; it costs around $22 (before shipping if bought online) from pretty much anywhere selling this. Knowing they pressed thousands of these, I held off this the price was reduced or a good enough sale happened where I could save enough money on it to make it worth my while. I bought it for $16 shipped a few weeks ago.

Now I’m not sure if they actually went back and re-pressed this record. I doubt it, but it’s a possibility. It never went out of print or was hard to find for retail price by any means, but my interest was piqued by something as simple as a hype sticker. You see, when this record first came out there was a hype sticker on the cover with a review from NPR Music and advertising that the record is pressed on 180 gram vinyl. There is/was also the typical “MP3 Download Included” sticker on the cover as well. The copy I bought in June of 2015 did not have this hype sticker on it, but it did still have the “MP3 Download Included” sticker on it. So either they only pressed a certain amount with this NPR hype sticker and eventually ran out of them, leaving a certain amount of copies with the sticker and a certain amount of copies without the sticker. Or they went back and pressed more copies that didn’t have the hype sticker. I find the latter implausible. I’m just throwing it out there as a possibility only because I’ve never come across a situation like this with hype stickers before. I’ve seen legit second pressings not have a hype sticker that was on the first pressing or have a different hype sticker than what was on the first pressing. But since this record never went OOP I find it hard believe a new pressing was made.

I’m including a picture of the hype sticker below just for reference. As I stated the copy I have does not have this hype sticker on it.

The aforementioned MP3 download code gains you access to terrible quality MP3’s that come in at 192 kbps. All copies come with an insert, which is a nice touch considering the record comes in a gatefold jacket. Another nice touch, which is not necessarily speaking to this album, but there is a theme running through all vinyl releases from this album. If you look at the entry for the “Back To The Shack” 7″, which was released after the Everything Will Be Alright In The End LP, you’ll notice that the center labels match. The artwork for the 7″ is also inspired by the LP artwork, as the only difference between the two is that the monster/creature from the LP artwork is removed on the 7″ artwork.

Leave a Reply

