V/A – Let Them Know: The Story Of Youth Brigade And BYO Records

Posted: February 2, 2016 in Vinyl
Tags: , , , ,

In an odd turn of events, this was a comp I was aware of but wrote off because at first glance it seemed to be about Youth Brigade and BYO Records, two things I have no interest in to be honest, so I assumed the comp would be full of bands I didn’t like. Fast forward to 2015, six years after this comp come out and I was behind the eight ball a bit as I missed quite a few clearance sales for Let The Know: The Story Of Youth Brigade And BYO Records.

After writing this comp off I didn’t give it much of a second thought. It wasn’t until I was looking through Discogs that this comp come up in my recommendations, so it made me curious. At that point I discovered Matt Skiba contributes a song to the comp, so my interest in it immediately went from zero to 100. I remembered seeing this on clearance for like $15 at Hot Topic for what seemed like years, and laughing about it because Hot Topic couldn’t get rid of them, thinking it was karmic retribution towards them. But when I went to see if $hit Topic still had it I was out of luck.

Google searches for this comp didn’t return much, at least in terms of decent prices on it. PLenty of places had copies in stock, but wanted full retail price, which was around $50 before shipping. So I waited to buy it until the 11th hour on ebay for $20 shipped to get me over the hump for the ebay bucks rewards $5 redemption threshold. In a twist of irony, the person I bought it from bought it from Hot Topic. I know this because it still had one of those stupid security tags $hit Topic puts on all their records.

Enough about the back story to how I obtained this comp. Let The Know: The Story Of Youth Brigade And BYO Records is an elaborate release, which is definitely the reason it cost so much when it first came out and the reason it has yet to sell out/go OOP, destined for clearance sales if a retailer hasn’t resorted to that already. The sdouble LP comp, pressed on colored vinyl (red), is housed in a 100-page hard cover book that also has the CD version of the comp and the companion DVD. I believe the vinyl release is the only one to include all version of this release. It was released as a stand alone book, book with CD and DVD, stand alone DVD, stand alone CD and digitally. With all those different formats, the main focus of this release was the DVD, which is a documentary on Youth Brigade, BYO Records and punk rock in general. BYO Records put this release together to celebrate their 25th anniversary. Sadly, the label called it a day in 2013.

I do not know how many copies were pressed, but it’s likely a couple thousand. All copies were pressed on red vinyl and were never released outside of this book box set. It was never sold as a stand alone LP. The book is full color, and highlights the history of both Youth Brigade and BYO Records. It also details the history of punk rock as well. All songs on the comp are covers of Youth Brigade songs or original songs performed by Youth Brigade themselves. In total 31 different bands contribute songs to the comp. Matt Skiba covers “I Scream.” Along with Skiba, the comp also features Bouncing Souls, Lagwagon, 7 Seconds, NOFX, Youth Brigade (obviously), Dropkick Murphys, Pennywise, Anti-Flag, Off With Their Heads and many others.

The records, CD and DVD are all housed in the book itself. The LP’s slide into sleeves that are part of pages of the book. The first LP is on the first page and the second LP is on the last page. The last page also houses the CD and DVD, which also have their own respective sleeves. For whatever reason, but what I’m guessing is to add more support and protect the LP’s, a small rectangular piece of thin cardstock is slide into each sleeve in front of the record itself.

Ordinarily I post photos of everything included with a release, whether it be a box set, single LP album or a measly jukebox 7″. But in this case I am not going to post photos of the book itself. I want to protect the writer’s intellectual property. If I post photos of all the pages of the book then anyone searching for it can read the book without buying it. I’m posting some of the pages, ones without any text, to highlight some aspects of the book without giving it away for free.

 

 

Leave a Reply

