Circa Survive/Mewithoutyou – Split 7″ (RSD 2016)

Posted: April 28, 2016 in Vinyl
Tags: , ,

After having the worst Record Store Day (RSD) ever last year, where I missed out on getting the most stuff on my list than ever before, I decided to head over to my store earlier than I ever have. Prior to last year the most I’ve ever missed out on getting from my local store was one thing, whereas I usually get everything on my list with ease after lining up 3 hours max before opening. But last year I missed out on 3, and I wasn’t sure if it was just because the line formed earlier at my store (I was out of state in 2014 and couldn’t see how the line formed) for some reason or simply because Deja Entendu was being re-pressed. It turned out to be the later as I could have gotten on line by 3 a.m. (which is still hours earlier than my norm) instead of midnight and been fine. But I wasn’t going to complain about being eighth in line, my best position to date, as I slept for those 3 hours anyway.

With that out of the way here is the Circa Survive/Mewithoutyou split 7″, which to be perfectly honest was the only reason why I participated in RSD this year. Everything else I could’ve easily bought online after RSD for retail price. The split features a new Circa Survive song, “Awake In A Dream,” and an alternate version of a previously released Mewithoutyou song, “Rainbow Signs (Fa So La Version).” The 7″ was pressed on three colors, with a quasi hidden variant mixed in. There are 1,200 copies on clear blue, 1,200 copies on clear orange and 100 copies on orange/blue. The orange/blue is a mix between the two colors, and the final product looks nothing like the mockups released by either Run For Cover Records (RFC) or Sumerian Records.

The mockups were first released by Run For Cover, and they couldn’t be more off from the finished product. They had a small hole and the /100 variant seemed more like a swirled blue/pink than an orange/blue mixture. RFC released their mockup image the same day as the official RSD list, March 8. Almost a month later and a little over 10 days before RSD, Sumerian released their own mockups, which were a drastic departure from RFC’s. Sumerian’s mockups, released on April 5, had a large hole instead of the small hole, and the /100 variant changed to more of a brown with green marble/swirl. The finished product for the /100 variant appears closer to Sumerian’s mockup, but most of the copies I’ve seen are a mustard yellow/pea soup green or straight up brown with hardly any other colors mixed in. All variants of the 7″ came out with a large hole and have a silver RSD exclusive hype sticker on the cover . As usual with all of Circa Survive’s releases, Esao Andrews did the artwork. No download code is included, which sadly is a running trend with majority f RSD releases this year. Nothing I bought this year had a download card/code, no matter the label releasing it. The only thing that did was the Nirvana Tribute comp released by Robotic Empire, and that wasn’t an official RSD release.

For those wondering, there is no way to tell what variant a copy of this split is prior to purchase. They all come sealed, and there is no discernible difference between the variants; the barcodes are all the same and there is no sticker anywhere indicating color. This inevitably led to people buying multiple copies looking for the /100 variant, which was probably the point the labels had in getting a variant that limited. Not that it would actually increase sales though, simply having a Circa Survive RSD release would ensure it would sell out. I despise these sorts of sales tactics, as it only encourages people to do unsavory things; whether it be by somehow cheating the 1 per person limit on RSD releases and/or turning around and flipping the unwanted extra copies they bought looking for the rarest variant.

Leave a Reply

