Stephan Jenkins – Live At Amoeba (RSD 2016)

Posted: April 28, 2016 in Vinyl
Tags: , , ,

After having the worst Record Store Day (RSD) ever last year, where I missed out on getting the most stuff on my list than ever before, I decided to head over to my store earlier than I ever have. Prior to last year the most I’ve ever missed out on getting from my local store was one thing, whereas I usually get everything on my list with ease after lining up 3 hours max before opening. But last year I missed out on 3, and I wasn’t sure if it was just because the line formed earlier at my store (I was out of state in 2014 and couldn’t see how the line formed) for some reason or simply because Deja Entendu was being re-pressed. It turned out to be the later as I could have gotten on line by 3 a.m. (which is still hours earlier than my norm) instead of midnight and been fine. But I wasn’t going to complain about being eighth in line, my best position to date, as I slept for those 3 hours anyway.

With that out of the way here is the Stephan Jenkins – Live At Amoeba LP. The color of this record was not announced prior to RSD, and when I opened it up I was surprised to see it on highlighter yellow vinyl. I was fully expecting black. 1,500 copies were pressed, and there are surprisingly no hype stickers on the cover, not even the now standard silver ‘RSD exclusive’ one. If the Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers live album was no frills, this Stephan Jenkins live album/EP (doesn’t have an official classification but there are only six songs) is even less. It’s just the record on standard weight vinyl slid into a thin jacket that has a terrible quality photo of Jenkins performing at Amoeba as the cover art. At least the Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers record was on 180 gram vinyl and had more creative artwork. The center labels on this Stephan Jenkins LP are even in black and white. Price for this release was around $16 depending on the store.

The songs featured on this release are all acoustic, and they’re not even some of the better Third Eye Blind songs. But more power to Stephan Jenkins for not caving and playing the radio hits like “Semi-Charmed Life” or “Never Let You Go.” Here is the track listing:

Side A

  1. All These Things

2. Shipboard Cook

  1. Exiles

 

Side B

  1. Blade
  2. Slow Motion
  3. Motorcycle Driveby

 

Very little info was published about where and when these song were recorded. There are multiple Amoeba locations and there is nothing printed on the back indicated where or when, and very little info is on the official RSD list or site other than “live at Amoeba on Small Business Saturday.” After doing some research it seems like the songs featured on the RSD 12″ were recorded on November 28, 2015 at Amoeba San Francisco.

No download code is included, which sadly is a running trend with majority f RSD releases this year. Nothing I bought this year had a download card/code, no matter the label releasing it. The only thing that did was the Nirvana Tribute comp released by Robotic Empire, and that wasn’t an official RSD release. Since there is no download and nobody has ripped the record and posted it anywhere online, there are some videos of his performance on Youtube, only four out of the six songs though, and about half of “All These Things” where some clown in the crowd is singing along too loud and drowning out Stephan Jenkins.

Stephan Jenkins - Live At Amoeba - Copy

 

Leave a Reply

