V/A – Doused In Mud, Soaked In Bleach comp (RSD 2016)

Posted: April 28, 2016 in Vinyl
Tags: , ,

After having the worst Record Store Day (RSD) ever last year, where I missed out on getting the most stuff on my list than ever before, I decided to head over to my store earlier than I ever have. Prior to last year the most I’ve ever missed out on getting from my local store was one thing, whereas I usually get everything on my list with ease after lining up 3 hours max before opening. But last year I missed out on 3, and I wasn’t sure if it was just because the line formed earlier at my store (I was out of state in 2014 and couldn’t see how the line formed) for some reason or simply because Deja Entendu was being re-pressed. It turned out to be the later as I could have gotten on line by 3 a.m. (which is still hours earlier than my norm) instead of midnight and been fine. But I wasn’t going to complain about being eighth in line, my best position to date, as I slept for those 3 hours anyway.

With that out of the way here is the Robotic Empire Nirvana tribute compilation to their debut album Bleach. These Nirvana tribute comps have become a bit of an annual tradition, with Nirvana’s other two studio albums receiving tribute the previous two years; in 2015 for Nevermind and 2014 for In Utero. It’s sad to see them go. For those unfamiliar with these tribute comps, it’s the original album covered front to back by various bands; ranging from Circa Survive to Thursday to These Arms Are Snakes to Cane In to La Dispute to Thou. And the comps usually have clever titles.

The Bleach tribute is entitled Doused In Mud, Soaked In Bleach. There was a RSD variant pressed on metallic silver vinyl, which came with an exclusive poster. The RSD variant is the only variant to come with a poster. The poster is a huge fold out poster, which is inspired by the comp’s cover art. The other two variants are clear and white. Pressing info has not been released, and don’t expect it to be for a long time if at all. The RSD variant does not come sealed and has a black hype sticker affixed to the poly sleeve that says ‘RSD exclusive.’ But don’t get that hype sticker confused with the official RSD release sticker that s silver. I’m not certain but I think all the variants come with the same black hype sticker, with the exception of the mentioning of “RSD exclusive.”

A download card is included with all copies regardless of variant. The two non-RSD variants are mail-order exclusive and could be purchased directly from Robotic Empire or other distros like Interpunk. I’m not entirely sure if physical record stores got any copies of the non-RSD variants after RSD, but there is a chance. I know some people actually received copies of one of the mail-order variants from their record store on RSD instead of the proper RSD variant. Robotic Empire also sold some copies of the RSD variant in their web store after RSD as well. Price on the RSD variant was around $23 depending on the store, and the price of the mail-order variants are $20. So that poster with the RSD variant essentially cost $3.

Here is the track listing for the comp:

Side A

  1.  Defeater – Blew
  2.  Thou – Floyd the Barber
  3.  Beach Slang – About a Girl
  4.  Basement – School
  5.  Circa Survive – Love Buzz (feat. Jon Simmons of Balance And Composure on 1 verse)
  6.  This Will Destroy You – Paper Cuts

 

Side B

  1. Young Widows – Negative Creep
  2.  Mean Jeans – Scoff
  3.  Rob Crow’s Gloomy Place – Swap Meet
  4.  The Fall of Troy – Mr. Moustache
  5.  Big Hush – Sifting
  6.  Daughters – Big Cheese
  7.  The Saddest Landscape – Downer
Leave a Reply

