V/A – Asian Man Music For Asian Man People!

Posted: December 14, 2016 in Vinyl
Tags: , , , ,

Asian Man Records has done a label subscription the past couple years, where subscribers get every release Asian Man puts out for that calendar year. Also included with the subscription are things like slipmats, t-shirts and sometimes exclusive releases. 2013 had an exclusive release; a vinyl compilation entitled Asian Man Music For Asian Man People.

The comp has Asian Man artists covering other Asian Man artists. I sought out the comp for the Dan Andriano song, in which he covers “Lincoln,” a Mu330 song. Other artists on the comp include Andrew Jackson Jihad, Bomb The Music Industry!, Cheap Girls, Sundials and Mikey Erg. Some of the bands covered include Alkaline Trio, Smoking Popes, Andrew Jackson Jihad and Slow Gherkin.

There was a total of 530 copies pressed, all on random colors with some marbling. The colors range from purple to pink to tan/brown, but most came out pink or purple it seems. Each copy is individually hand numbered in black ink, done with a ball point pen it seems. The numbering is done on the back of the jacket, which is a half fold screen printed sleeve. I bought this second hand off ebay so I’m not sure if a download card/code was ever included. The copy I bought did not have one.

To be honest I had no idea this comp existed, even though I’m a huge Alkaline Trio and Dan Andriano fan and collector. I only found out about it after Asian Man released the second volume in the Asian Man Music For Asian Man People series came out in late 2016. Calling it a series may be a bit premature, as there are only two releases to date with a huge three year gat in-between them, and there may or may not be more planned/coming out. Not like I would’ve subscribed to get this comp, but I might have been able to find a copy a lot sooner than I did. But in the end it didn’t take me long from the time I discovered this comp to the point when I bought a copy. It only took me a month or two without scouring the internet.

Since it was a subscription exclusive release from last year, the only way to get a hold of a copy was on the secondary market. And copies were few and far between. Discogs had copies going for an average of – and before the copy I eventually wound up buying on ebay popped up only – were ever sold/listed on ebay. I bought this comp for $20 shipped. Would I have liked to pick it up for less? Sure, who wouldn’t? But considering the scarcity of the comp coming up for sale and the price being fair based on previous sales, I felt comfortable buying it.

Leave a Reply

