Facial – Mistress

Posted: February 24, 2017 in Vinyl
Tags:

I discovered this band thank to Chain Letter Collective throwing in this record free with my order of the Fakers 7″. To be honest, I would have never checked out this band otherwise. Don’t let the name turn you off. Yes, it’s a bit of a provocative name, but Facial is not an over the top, in your face, weird for the sake of weird band. I’m actually not sure of their name should be spelled in all caps; ‘FACIAL’, because that is how I’ve seen it used for various things, or grammatically correct like ‘Facial’. Their sound is raw and energetic, and harkens back to a time when grunge was just starting to get a foothold.

Facial’s debut album, Mistress, was pressed on pink vinyl limited to a mere 300 copies. So in that regard I was surprised to see Chain Letter Collective throw it in with my order for free. But after listening to the album, I see why they gave me it. The three piece outfit hailing from Los Angeles has a similar sound as Fakers, and has a refreshing genuineness. If you like Piebald, Nirvana or – you will enjoy Facial

Leave a Reply

