The Beatles – Strawberry Fields b/w Penny Lane 7″ (RSD 2017)

Posted: May 15, 2017 in Vinyl
Tags: , ,

Once again I decided to camp out for Record Store Day (RSD), getting to my store 8 ½ hours ahead of opening. I know I said on Twitter that I likely wouldn’t bother with RSD this year, but things changed obviously. That thing was adding more and more things to my list, which ending the debate of do I want to go out for the one thing I know I won’t be able to find online for retail price. I’d rather not spend $30 on something if it means the only thing being sacrificed is a good night’s sleep. If you think I’m crazy for waiting that line and getting to a store that early, keep reading. But I do sleep for at least 2-3 hours of that wait time. If you want to skip this column-esque story, skip ahead five paragraphs for the start of the write up on this particular RSD release.

To lay the ground work for RSD this year, I actually had fun the past two years (2016 & 2017) waiting in line, which makes the time go by faster. That was not the case every other year, and I’ve been attending RSD since its inception in 2008. I had some cool people to talk to these past two years, which rarely, if ever happened every other year for RSD. I’m talkative person, it’s the other people who either can’t or refuse to hold a conversation for whatever reason. The past two years I was next to the same group of people actually. You see, at my local store, the same groups of people show up around the same time every year, especially the diehards. I’m talking about the real early birds, the people who get there 7+ hours ahead of opening. And at my store you have to show up by 4 am (for an 8 am opening) in order to have a serious chance of getting what you want. Otherwise you’re like 150+ in line and will spend around 2 hours (after opening) just waiting to get in and get checked out. It’s a popular store in a highly populated area.

For those curious about what store I go to, I never mention it because I want to maintain some privacy for myself. I don’t want people knowing where I live. It’s not a matter of turning people onto the store and having more people show up. Trust me, this store is well know and one of the most popular stores in the region. It draws people from four different states for RSD, and there are no shortages of record stores in the area either.

The only thing that changed in the 10 years RSD has been happening is how early I have to line up in order to get everything I want, or at the very least the few things I would have a hard time tracking down for a decent price online. I used to get to my store around 5 am, and got everything I wanted with no problem. But ever since 2015 the line has gotten out of control. I used to be no more than 20th in line with a 5 am arrival from 2009-2014, but I learned my lesson in 2015 after getting there at 2 am (thinking that additional 3 hours would be enough to compensate for the Deja Entendu release) and being like 50th in line, resulting in missing out on stuff I wanted for the first time ever. And I mean for the first time ever. Prior to that year I never missed out on a single thing on my list.

Ever since then my goal was to get there by midnight, and it’s worked. And I’ve had more fun in line than ever. People bring beer, people are more talkative, offer to get food and coffee for people and are just more helpful and nicer in general. I think a lot people are immediately grumpy when they get there later in the morning and come to the dreaded realization of how long the line actually is. The line can be a bit deceiving because it wraps around the building/strip mall. Lots of people see what they think is the end of the line at the end of the building/strip mall, only to walk over and discover it keeps going. I’ve heard plenty of obscenities being yelled at 5 and 6 am, some from like a hundred feet away.

That one thing mentioned above was the Thrice 7”. That is what drew me out for RSD, but I also picked up a bunch of other things rather than deal with paying for shipping and the potential for damage during shipping. The Beatles 7” was one of those other things I wanted, but felt wouldn’t be hard to find online for retail price. The Beatles release was also something I could live without and could have been scratched from my list purely to save money.

I’ve never be a huge Beatles fan; I’ve never disliked or hate them and I never loved them like the rest of the world seems to. I appreciated what they did for music and how influential they were; I just never ranked them as the best band ever. Music is a very subjective thing and I’ll rarely bash people for liking what they like or pressure people into liking certain bands or styles of music. But ever since I was able to buy The Beatles box sets for way below half price a few months ago (which you can read about on this blog at a yet to be determined date – but hopefully soon!), I’ve been on a huge Beatles kick. I essentially bought both the mono and stereo box sets for below original retail price on one of those boxes. So better than 2-for-1 or BOGO; whatever you want to call those types of sales.

This Beatles 7” features two new-ish stereo masters of “Strawberry Fields” and “Penny Lane” that were done in 2015. These re-masters were done by Giles Barton for the re-release of The Beatles compilation album 1, which was titled 1+. So these masters aren’t exactly brand new, done exclusively for this RSD release or are part of any upcoming Beatles re-release.

This Beatles 7” is limited to 7,000 copies worldwide. The packaging; the jacket/sleeve and center labels are a replica of the original UK single released in 1967. All copies of the RSD pressing come with a hype sticker on the bottom left corner and do not come with a download card/code. The 7” was pressed in Germany, which is indicated by a sticker affixed to the back of the jacket.

The Beatles - Penny Lane bw Strawberry Fields 2017 RSD - Copy

Leave a Reply

